Exploring Tenerife’s colours: Day 1

I decided to escape for a while from the lovely London weather ( generally we all know how it is in London 😀 ), so I packed my stuff and I flighted to this amazing, beautiful canary island: Tenerife!

Most people think going to a nice hotel, having some cocktails and enjoying the sunset is the proper way to feel the island’s spirit. While this is actually relaxing, I think going by yourself on a road trip up through the island is far better.

Free to go wherever I wanted and stop anytime I desired, I had an amazing experience not only visiting places where nature is the keyword, but also having the opportunity to meet some island’s habitants who told me a lot about the history, the climate, the gastronomy and beautiful places to discover.

Let’s check it out together!!!

Aeropuerto Reina Sofia to Puerto de la Cruz:

18425768_10211981924245622_76066092_n

For those of you who want to see and discover the highlights of Tenerife,  you can either rent a car ( https://www.travelsupermarket.com/en-gb/car-hire/spain/canary-islands/tenerife/  ) or to visit by bus ( http://www.titsa.com/index.php/en/   it’s the main public transport that travels all over the island).

From the south to the north you’re gonna enjoy the trip since you have two different kinds of views and colours to look at. On one side the rugged and steep coast surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean and its deep blue; on the other one instead, the Spain’s highest mountain, mount Teide, a slumbering giant volcano (Earth’s third highest volcano) followed by mountains and volcanic valleys.

One of these valleys is Guìmar, one of the Tenerife’s oldest towns and one of the first areas to be settled by the Spanish. Next to me on the bus, there was this old man (born in the island ) that, noticing my curiosity, started to tell me some stories.

He told me about Guìmar, famous for its Guanche pyramids built from lava stone without any human’s help. There were 9 of them, but unfortunately only 6 survived. He told me about its plantation of sugar, potatoes and avocados and, above all, he told me that in the early morning he’s used to go to the port of Guimar for fishing and to wish himself good luck ( but forget about saying to a fisherman have a good day ), he performs a short fish dance! I’m still hoping one day I’m gonna see him doing it. 😀

Puerto De La Cruz:

I got lost. It was sooo me! Everytime I don’t know exactly where I’m going, I usually find something amazing… in this case I explored the old part of the town. A walk in there allowed me to discover quite places, a delicious smell coming from tapas bars, the 1632 catholic church which is La Iglesia de Nuestra Senora de la Pena de Francia, the castle of San Felipe, the Convento de San Juan Baptista, a fresh cut grass smell and just in front of me… the ocean! Not that bad for someone who got lost 😀

Photo 24-04-2017, 17 29 23

Photo 24-04-2017, 17 31 56
Iglesia de Nuestra Señora de la Pena de Francia
Photo 25-04-2017, 18 33 48
Plaza de Europa
Photo 25-04-2017, 18 35 00Photo 25-04-2017, 18 39 20

Puerto de la Cruz’s always been popular between tourists and it’s one of the top destination of the Canary Islands, but now I understand why. It’s an oasi of green land and tropical fruits plantation ( in fact, nothing’s better than drinking a fresh natural pineapple juice, while you’re enjoying the tropical weather ).

I’ve found this town very characteristic with its narrow streets and traditional cafès and tapas bars. If you’re a tired traveller looking for some tranquility and culture, that’s a very nice place to visit. There’s the Lago Martianez (designed by architect and artist César Manrique), which is a water park with lots of swimming pools and a salt water lake where even the stones in the floor got their own geological history. Everything’s surrounded by a sub-tropical garden!!! It looks like a paradise and it actually is!

Photo 24-04-2017, 17 52 47
Lago Martiànez

Photo 24-04-2017, 20 21 10Photo 24-04-2017, 20 41 31Photo 25-04-2017, 12 28 37Photo 25-04-2017, 13 43 34

Photo 25-04-2017, 15 10 53
Playa de Martiànez

Puerto de la Cruz is also famous for the beautiful Jardin Botànico and Playa Jardìn, a beach full of palm trees and volcanic black sand. I figured it out that its name symbolises the rich environment of flowers and plant life and It’s a great place to take some amazing pictures!Photo 24-04-2017, 20 29 28Photo 24-04-2017, 17 34 26

Another reason that makes Puerto de la Cruz a top destination is Loro Parque, an animal adventure park with lots of sea animals, but above all it houses the largest parrot collection in the whole world.

And that was just the first day!

To find out more about Loro Parque and my adventures around this amazing island, give me a feedback about this post with a like or a comment and if you liked it, subscribe and share it with your friends! 😀

Thanks for reading and see you soon, folks! 😀

Click to Subscribe!

Leave a Reply

